Even if you have a food allergy, you’ll still be able to enjoy some of the most delicious authentic Thai cuisine. At Thai Ginger, we serve both Gluten-Free options and Vegan options.
Here are some of the most important things to know about ordering Thai food if you have a food allergy:
1. Ask your server to check on the ingredients
Even if a dish that you’re considering usually does not contain the ingredient that you’re allergic to, it’s always important to ask your waiter or waitress to check on the ingredients in the dish.
In most cases, they’ll be able to tell you exactly what’s in the dish that you’re thinking about ordering.
2. You can customize menu items
In some cases, the dish that you’re thinking about ordering may contain certain ingredients that you’re unable to eat. However, you can ask that the ingredient(s) that you’re allergic to is left out of the dish.
For instance, if you’re allergic to dairy and a dish that you’re thinking about ordering includes milk or cream, you could ask your server if they can make your meal without the these ingredients.
3. Vegan-friendly dishes are usually okay for people with dairy and egg allergies
If you have an allergy to eggs or dairy products, you’re likely to be able to have any Thai dish that’s vegan-friendly because a vegan diet does not include any animal products.
4. Traditional recipes are usually followed
In most cases, the ingredients in a certain dish will be the same from one vendor to another.
While it’s important to ask your server if a dish that you’re considering contains the ingredient(s) that you’re allergic to, you’ll generally be able to have a certain dish if it did not contain your allergen(s) elsewhere.
5. Milk usually is not used in traditional Thai dishes
In most cases, Thai food uses coconut milk instead of cow’s milk. This means that people with milk allergies will usually be able to order most Thai dishes without any problems, but it’s important to check with your server to make sure.